Last Post Fund Unmarked Grave Program
Top Logo  

Institutional links

 

 

Unmarked Grave Program

On June 11, 1996, the Last Post Fund amended its Letters Patent to create the “Unmarked Grave Program” whose objective is to provide a permanent military-style marker for eligible Veterans who lie in unmarked graves.

 

The Program is available to eligible Veterans whose grave has not had a permanent headstone or foot marker for five years or more, and who have not previously received funeral and burial funding from the Last Post Fund or Veterans Affairs Canada (as a marker may be provided under another Program).

Requesting an Application

Request for a grave marker may come from various sources such as the Veteran’s family, estate or friend, a Legion Service Officer, other Veterans organizations, a municipal authority or a cemetery official.

 

The request may be made through the Last Post Fund by calling this toll free number:

1 800-465-7113

Service Eligibility

As of June 2006, the Last Post Fund amended the eligibility requirements for the Unmarked Grave Program to include any former member of the Canadian Forces, or any of its previous services or components since Confederation, who have passed basic military training and who were honourably discharged.

 

Grave marking for those who served with the Allied Forces and who are interred in Canada may also be considered under the Unmarked Grave Program.

Proof of Service

Proof of military service stating rank and military unit is required. The Last Post Fund may be able to assist with obtaining military service records from Library & Archives Canada if supplied with the full name and date of birth of a Canadian Veteran.

 

Library & Archives Canada maintains a “Soldiers of the First World War” database that holds the attestation papers for those who served during World War One. This database may be viewed at:

 

http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/databases/cef/001042-100.01-e.php

Please note: The Last Post Fund does not have access to service records for those who served with the Allied Forces. Proof of service for Allied Veterans must be provided by the applicant.

Proof of Death

To process an application, we request that an applicant provides proof of death for the Veteran. This may include a document showing the date of death such as an obituary or card of remembrance, a death certificate issued by a funeral home or government source or a cemetery interment record, etc.

The Application Process

The following information is necessary to process an application:

  • “Cemetery Information & Declaration” signed by an official of the cemetery or by some other responsible authority that verifies that the Veteran is buried in the cemetery; the grave position is identifiable; the grave is not permanently marked and determines the type of military-style marker that is acceptable.

 

  • “Application for the Unmarked Grave Program” form signed by the applicant.

Type of Grave Marker

 

Grave markers must be ordered through a Last Post Fund supplier to ensure compliance with the inscription standards of Veterans Affairs Canada. Information that is inscribed on the marker may include:

 

           (Religious symbol of choice)

           NAME

           RANK

           MILTARY UNIT

           DATES

           LEST WE FORGET

 

Depending on the type of marker allowed at the cemetery, the Last Post Fund may place an upright or flat grey granite military-style marker.  When necessary, a grave marker of varying dimensions or special material may be ordered to comply with cemetery regulations.

 

Upright Grave Marker

Made of Barre Grey Granite
Height 39 in.

Width 15 in.

Thickness 3 in.

 

 

Flat Grave Marker
Made of Barre Grey Granite
Height 12¼ in.

Width 20 in.

Thickness 4 in.

 

 

 Please note: If a permanent marker has already been provided or if it is the intention of the next-of-kin, estate or other organization to privately fund and purchase a marker, no additional marker shall be provided by the Last Post Fund.

Programme de pierres tombales
Top Logo

Programme de pierres tombales

Le 11 juin 1996, le Fonds du Souvenir modifiait ses Lettres patentes pour créer un Programme de pierres tombales, dont l’objectif est d’installer une pierre tombale permanente de type militaire sur les tombes des anciens combattants admissibles qui sont inhumés dans des sépultures non identifiées.

 

Ce programme est offert aux anciens combattants dont la sépulture ne dispose d’aucune pierre tombale depuis au moins cinq ans, à l’exclusion des anciens combattants qui ont reçu une aide financière du Fonds du Souvenir ou d’Anciens Combattants pour des services funéraires et d’inhumation, une pierre tombale pouvant avoir été installée dans le cadre d’un autre programme.  

 

Faire une demande

 

La demande pour une pierre tombale peut provenir de diverses sources, telles qu’un membre de la famille, la succession ou un ami de l'ancien combattant, un agent de la Légion royale canadienne, un représentant d’une autre association d'anciens combattants, une autorité municipale ou le représentant d’un cimetière.

 

La demande peut être faite en appelant le Fonds du Souvenir au numéro sans frais

1 800 465-7113.

 

Admissibilité

 

En juin 2006, le Fonds du Souvenir a modifié ses critères d'admissibilité au Programme de pierres tombales afin d'inclure tout ancien membre des Forces canadiennes (ou de ses services et unités antérieurs depuis la Confédération) ayant effectué sa formation militaire de base et été honorablement libéré.

L’installation d’une pierre tombale dans le cadre de ce programme peut également être offerte aux anciens combattants alliés qui sont inhumés au Canada.

 

États de service

 

Les états de service d’un ancien combattant comprenant son rang et unité militaire sont requis dans le cadre du Programme de pierres tombales. Le Fonds du Souvenir peut vous venir en aide pour obtenir les dossiers militaires de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada lorsque le nom et la date de naissance de l’ancien combattant lui sont fournis.

 

Bibliothèque et Archives Canada disposent d’une base de données intitulée « Soldats de la Première Guerre mondiale » où sont conservées les attestations de service pour ceux qui ont servi durant ce conflit. On peut consulter cette base de données en suivant ce lien :

http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/base-de-donnees/cec/001042-100.01-f.php

 

Veuillez noter que le Fonds du Souvenir n’a pas accès aux dossiers militaires de ceux qui ont servi dans les Forces alliées. Une attestation de service militaire de l’ancien combattant allié doit donc être fournie par le requérant dans le cadre de ce programme.

 

Preuve de décès

 

Afin que le Fonds du Souvenir puisse traiter une demande, le requérant doit fournir une preuve du décès de l'ancien combattant. Il s'agit d'un document indiquant la date du décès tel qu’une notice nécrologique, un certificat de décès émis par une maison funéraire ou par une source gouvernementale, un dossier d'inhumation au cimetière, etc.

 

Processus d’une demande

 

Les informations suivantes sont requises pour le traitement d’une demande :

  • Une « Déclaration du cimetière », dûment signée par un représentant ou toute autre autorité responsable, laquelle confirme que l’ancien combattant est bel et bien inhumé dans le cimetière ; que l’endroit exact de la sépulture est connu ; que celle-ci ne dispose d’aucune pierre tombale ; et le type de stèle requis selon les règlements du cimetière.

  • Une « Demande relative au Programme de pierres tombales » dûment signée par le requérant.

Type de pierre tombale

 

Les pierres tombales doivent être commandées à un fournisseur accrédité par le Fonds du Souvenir afin d'assurer la conformité avec les normes d'Anciens Combattants Canada. Les renseignements suivants doivent être inscrits sur la pierre tombale :

 

(Symbole religieux, au choix)

Nom de l’ancien combattant

Rang

Unité militaire

Dates de naissance et de décès

Je me souviens

 

Selon le type de pierre tombale permise au cimetière, le Fonds du Souvenir fournira une stèle militaire verticale ou une pierre à plat en granit de couleur grise. Une pierre tombale de dimensions ou d'un matériau spéciaux peut être commandée afin de satisfaire aux normes du cimetière.

 

Stèle verticale

Granit gris de Barre
100 cm hauteur x 38 cm largeur x
7,5 cm épaisseur

(39 x 15 x 3 po.)

 

 

Pierre à plat
Granit gris de Barre
50 cm hauteur x 31 cm largeur x
10 cm épaisseur

(12¼ x 20 x 4 po.)

 

 

Veuillez noter qu’aucune pierre tombale ne sera installée par le Fonds du Souvenir si un membre de la famille de l’ancien combattant, sa succession ou toute autre association a déjà installé ou prévoit acheter une telle pierre.